What to Avoid

What must be avoided?

Anything with gluten in it, which is wheat, rye, barley, and non-gluten-free oats. But that is easier said than done.

Unfortunately, gluten is hidden in many places.  Wheat and barley go by many different names, as well as many different derivatives.  In addition, there are many different processed food ingredients that may contain gluten but due to regulations, many may not have to state specifically if there is gluten in its ingredients or not.

What are the possible names and derivatives of wheat and barley to look for?

Wheat: atta, bulgur, couscous, dinkel (spelt), durum, einkorn, emmer, farina, farro (spelt), fu, graham, hydrolyzed wheat protein, kamut, matzoh (also known by matza, matzo, and matzah), modified wheat starch, orzo, seitan, semolina, spelt, triticale, wheat bran, wheat flour, wheat germ, wheat starch.

Barley: ale, barley flour, pearl barley, beer, brewer’s yeast, lager, malt (including extract, flavoring, milk, syrup, vinegar). Just to note, if malt is listed as an ingredient, it is barley malt, so be sure to avoid it. If the malt is made from any other source, such as corn, it must list that source in the ingredient list (e.g., corn malt.)

Wheat Free is not necessarily Gluten Free

There are several ingredients that are not as easy to figure out. Some may or may not contain gluten depending o n the practices of the manufacturer and/or the country in which it was made, as well as labeling laws.

A very important point to remember is that wheat-free is not necessarily gluten-free. With the labeling law changing to having to state whenever wheat is an ingredient, it is easy to forget to read the entire label if wheat isn’t listed in the allergen information or the package says wheat-free. If it says wheat-free, remember to read the ingredient list for anything that could contain barley (or malt) or rye.

There is more?

Very often Celiac, and Gluten Intolerance clusters itself with other dietary issues.  It is not uncommon to have additional allergies, or intolerances.  As soon as you suspect a food does not work for you, omit it from your diet and consult your doctor.  Abstinence is the best way to let these issues resolve.  Often vitamin/mineral therapy, properly sourced probiotics and enzymatic therapies will help speed the process.

Be Extra Careful!

I recommend to develop a diet that revolves around whole, simple ingredients whenever possible.  I avoid anything that reads autolyzed, hydrolyzed, MSG, and “natural flavors” these can all be culprits in causing upsets that slow our healing and getting one to a place of confident eating.  Avoid excess sugar in the diet, as well as excess processed gluten free foods.

 


The information on this site is not intended or implied to be a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. All content, including text, graphics, images and information, contained on or available through this web site is for general information purposes only. Discover Gluten Freedom makes no representation and assumes no responsibility for the accuracy of information contained on or available through this web site, and such information is subject to change without notice. You are encouraged to confirm any information obtained from or through this web site with other sources, and review all information regarding any medical condition or treatment with your physician. NEVER DISREGARD PROFESSIONAL MEDICAL ADVICE OR DELAY SEEKING MEDICAL TREATMENT BECAUSE OF SOMETHING YOU HAVE READ ON OR ACCESSED THROUGH THIS WEB SITE.

Some of my Favorites

total people

blackbird

Jovial

rudy’s tortillas

ngngp

Bards

Udis

GLDapp

gfconsumer

gdgig